Andrology – the official journal of EAA and ASA

This is a joint publication of the European Academy of Andrology (EAA) and the American Society of Andrology (ASA) and replaces the International Journal of Andrology (IJA) and the Journal of Andrology (JA), which were closed after merging together in 2012. The first issue of Andrology was published in January 2013.

Details of the merger were published in 2012 in IJA

Impact factor (IF) evolution:
  • 2022: 4.5 (current IF)
  • 2021: 4.456
  • 2020: 3.842
  • 2019: 2.860
  • 2018: 3.106 
  • 2017: 2.734
  • 2016: 2.427
  • 2015: 2.515 (the first full IF)

Further information can be found on the Wiley website for the Journal.

Current Chief Editors:

Marie Claude Hofmann


Marie-Claude Hofmann
Editor-in-Chief (appointed by ASA)


  Aleksander Giwercman

Aleksander Giwercman
Deputy Editor (appointed by EAA) 


Past Chief Editors

Manuela Simoni (EAA) 2017-2021
Douglas Carrell (ASA) 2013-2019
Ewa Rajpert-De Meyts (EAA) 2013-2016




International Journal of Andrology

The previous official journal of the EAA, ceased to exist at the end of 2012 after 35 years of service.

  • The last (2014) Impact Factor: 3.695 
Further information and all published issues can be found on the Wiley website



2009-2012: Ewa Rajpert-De Meyts (Denmark)

2001-2009: Jorma Toppari (Finland)

1994-2001: Richard Sharpe (UK)

1990-1993: Mikko Niemi (Finland)

1981-1989: Niels E. Skakkebæk (Denmark)

1978-1981: Frank H. Comhaire (Belgium)


Further information